Reynolds Reflections - Barry Nelson

Inaugural class of Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame selected

The inaugural class of the newly-established Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame has been selected. What a wonderful honor for the first members! Congratulations to each of them, and to their family members, who should be extremely proud.

The Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame is an important accomplishment for the school district and community. Congratulations to Chairman Joseph A. Torok and his Reynolds 50th Anniversary Academics Committee members for this outstanding achievement.

The purpose of the Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame is to recognize those individuals who have brought distinction, honor and excellence to Reynolds High School through their efforts in the realm of academics. On a yearly basis, any alumnus of Reynolds High School may be nominated to the Hall of Fame. Selections were, and always will be, made by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee. This year, the Selection Committee included the following members:

- •High School Principal Joseph A. Torok
- •Katie Tyson, high school teacher representing Humanities / Cultural Studies
- •Scott Weaver, high school teacher representing Applied Science / Technology
- •Tim Scarvel, high school guidance counselor representing Special Services
- •Kenda Hoovler, high school teacher representing Mathematics
- •Shannon Davis, high school teacher representing Health / Leisure / Family Living
- •John Tofani, high school teacher representing Citizenship / Societal Studies
- •Michelle Morris, high school teacher representing Humanities
- •Jane Coburn, high school teacher representing Science / Technology Studies
- •Jeff Colson from the Reynolds School Board
- •Karen Sherwood, community member
- •Dick Sherwood, retired teacher

Thanks to all of these committed professionals who donated their time and effort to select the inaugural class.

The inaugural class of the Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame includes the following eleven distinguished professionals:

Richard E. Beil, Reynolds Class of 1965, achieved a B. S. in Biology and Secondary Education from Mansfield University in 1969. He completed a M. S. in Biology from Slippery Rock University in 1972, and a Ph. D. in Reproductive Physiology from the University of Illinois in 1975. Among many impressive accomplishments, he was recipient of the Faculty Excellence Award in 1989 and the Robert F. Welch Postdoctural Fellowship in 1979. He also is a member of several professional organizations.

Gary John D'Urso, Reynolds Class of 1970, achieved a B.A. from Thiel College, a M. S. from the University of Pittsburgh, and a Ph. D. in Geology from West Virginia University. He is a Certified Professional Geologist in Indiana, and has written numerous professional publications. He is a member of the Geological Society of America.

Victoria (Vaughan) Dickson, Reynolds Class of 1977, achieved a B. S. from Temple University in 1981, an M. S. from The University of Pennsylvania in 1985, and Ph. D. in Nursing from Penn in 2007. She has been the recipient of several research-related awards, including the Martha Hill New Investigator Award for the American Heart Association. She is a member of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners and several other nursing-and health-related organizations.

Darrell J. Irvine, Reynolds Class of 1991, achieved a B. S. in Engineering Physics from the University of Pittsburgh in 1995. He achieved a Ph. D. in Polymer Science and Technology from MIT in 2000. He also was a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellow in 1995, and has won many awards for research and other

accomplishments. Of particular note is the National Science Foundation Career Award in 2004.

David Neal Lineman, Reynolds Class of 1982, achieved a B. S. in Chemistry from Edinboro University in 1986, an M. S. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh in 1995, an M. Ed. in Science and Mathematics from Slippery Rock University in 1998, and a Ph. D. in Analytical Chemistry from Duquesne University in 2006. He was the recipient of several chemistry and educator awards, including the American Institute of Chemistry Award and the Industrial Information Institute for Education Outstanding Educator Award.

Colonel Suellyn (Wright) Novak, United States Air Force, Reynolds Class of 1969, achieved a B. S. in Biology / Secondary Education from Grove City College in 1973, a M. S. in Public Administration from the University of North Dakota in 1980, and a M. S. degree in Land Warfare from the American Military University in 1998. She was recipient of the Meritorious Service Medal, Air Force Commendation Medal, and National Defense Service Medal.

Erik R. Olson, Reynolds Class of 1983, achieved a B. A. in Chemistry from Juniata College in 1987, and a Ph. D. in Chemistry from Dartmouth College in 1993. He was awarded a Dartmouth Fellowship from 1987-1993, and the John H. Wolfenden Teaching Award in 1991.

Allen L. Palmer, Reynolds Class of 1971, achieved a B. A. in Economics and Psychology from the University of Pittsburgh in 1975, and a J. D. from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in 1978. He authored two articles for professional publications, and is a member of the National Economic Honor Society and the Pennsylvania Bar Association.

Sarah A. Palyo, Reynolds Class of 1997, achieved a B. A. in Psychology from Temple University in 2001, a M. A. in Psychology from the State University of New York, and a Ph. D. in Clinical Psychology, also from SUNY in 2008. She also was awarded a Postdoctoral Fellowship from Stanford University in 2009. She won several psychology-related and professional development scholarships and awards, and is a Licensed Psychologist in California.

Donald L. Reichard, Reynolds Class of 1966, achieved a B. S. in Social Science / Secondary Education from Indiana University of Pennsylvania in 1970, an M. A. in Political Science and US History from IUP in 1972, and an Ed. D. in Higher Education Administration from The College of William and Mary in 1981. He has been Johnston Community College President, James Sprunt Community College President, and was awarded the Wachovia President of the Year Award in 2007.

Kimberly A. (Weary) Smith, Reynolds Class of 1999, achieved a B. S. in Exercise Science from Slippery Rock University in 2003, and an M. S. (2005) and Ph. D. in Exercise Science from the University of Pittsburgh in 2007. She was named Outstanding Doctoral Student, and received the Graduate Student Investigator Research Award at Pitt during her higher education tenure.

What an outstanding group of eleven accomplished professionals! All are extremely worthy of being included in the inaugural Reynolds Academic Hall of Fame class. Their educational credentials are impeccable, and their achievements are truly impressive. Congratulations!

Inductees, family members, and the general public are invited to the inaugural Academic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will be held next Tuesday, April 13, 2010 at 6:30 pm in the High School Large Group Instruction Room (LGI). They will also be recognized at the annual Senior Awards Ceremony conducted at Reynolds High School. All inductees also will have their pictures and biographies displayed on plaques, which will be placed on an Academic Wall of Fame near the LGI. Next Tuesday's induction ceremony will be followed by refreshments and fellowship in the High School cafeteria.